altarThe Four Noble Truths

Life is suffering.

The origin of suffering is attachment.

The cessation of suffering is attainable.

The path to the cessation of suffering.

The Eightfold Path

Wisdom Development:

1. Right View / Right Understanding

2. Right Intention

Ethical Conduct Development:

3. Right Speech

4. Right Action

5. Right Livelihood

Mental Development:

6. Right Effort

7. Right Mindfulness

8. Right Concentration

The Six Paramitas

Dana Paramita - Perfection of Generosity

Sila Paramita - Perfection of Morality through upholding precepts

Ksanti Paramita - Perfection of Patience

Virya Paramita - Perfection of Energy

Dhyana Paramita - Perfection of Meditation (Zen)

Prajna Paramita - Perfection of Wisdom

The Four Immeasurables

Loving-kindness or benevolence (maitri)

Compassion (karuna)

Empathetic joy (mudita) - the pleasure that comes from delighting in the well-being of other people

Equanimity (upekkha)

The Five Remembrances

I am of the nature to grow old. There is no way to escape growing old.

I am of the nature to have ill health. There is no way to escape ill health.

I am of the nature to die. There is no way to escape death.

All that is dear to me and everyone I love are of the nature to change. There is no way to escape being separated from them.

My actions are my only true belongings. I cannot escape the consequences of my actions. My actions are the ground upon which I stand.